City of Sacramento Police Department

Chief of Police
5770 Freeport Blvd., Suite 100
Sacramento, CA  95822-3516

(916) 808-0800
Fax : (916) 808-0818


For Immediate Release No. 20110329-051
Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Youth Program Receives Top Award

The Sacramento Police Department's Criminal Justice and Public Service Magnet Academy has been chosen to receive the 2010-2011 Distinguished Program Award for the Northern Region of California. The award is presented by the State Juvenile Officers Association in partnership with the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation-Division of Juvenile Justice.

The success of the Magnet Academy is attributed to the collaboration and unwavering support from the Sacramento City Unified School District, Twin Rivers Unified School District, California Partnership Academies and the Sacramento Police Foundation. The hard work and commitment to excellence exhibited by the academy staff was instrumental in making the program one of the best in the state.

The Magnet Academy staff includes:

  • Officer Laurie Cory and Lead Instructor Christoffer Herner from John F. Kennedy High School
  • Officer Lilia Alonso and Lead Instructor Jason Elkins from C.K. McClatchy High School
  • Officer Samuel Davis and Lead Instructor Michael Washington from Hiram W. Johnson High School
  • Officer Filmore Graham and Lead Instructor Richard Harris from Grant Union High School

The program supervisors are Sergeants Renee Mitchell, Eric Walker, and Terrell Marshall.

The award will be presented on Wednesday, March 30, 2011, at 12:00 p.m., at the Sacramento Police Department, 5770 Freeport Boulevard, Sacramento, CA, in the Hall of Honor. The contact person is Sergeant Terrell Marshall.


Sacramento Police Media Relations · (916) 808-0808 ·

The Mission of the Sacramento Police Department is to work in partnership with the Community to
protect life and property, solve neighborhood problems, and enhance the quality of life in our City.